Looking for more in Writing and Authors or Applying for the New Writers Awards?

New Writers Awards Showcase 2024

Find out more about our fantastic New Writers showcase, taking place on Thursday 29 February 2024.

Every year, the New Writers Awards spotlights an amazing array of new writing talent in Scotland. Now is your chance to hear the 2023 awardees read from their own work, then take their words home with our New Writing Sampler. Our 2024 showcase will be hosted by the fabulous Heather Parry(this link will open in a new window) and can be attended in person, at Assembly Roxy in Edinburgh, or online via a live stream. We'll also post a captioned video after the event, as well as a link to a digital version of our sampler.

The New Writers Awards showcase is generously sponsored by Hampden & Co(this link will open in a new window). Hampden & Co provides highly personalised banking for individuals, their families and businesses.

Join us for the New Writers showcase

Thursday 29 February 2024, 7.30–9.15pm

In-person: Assembly Roxy, 2 Roxburgh Place, Edinburgh, EH8 9SU

The showcase will take place from 7.30pm–9.15pm (with two breaks) followed by a DJ set until 11pm. 

(this link will open in a new window)Buy tickets


Thursday 29 February 2024, 7.30–9.15pm

(this link will open in a new window)Watch online

Spotlighting our new writers

The prestigious judging panel had the difficult task of selecting our talented awardees from hundreds of entries.

Our panellists included Janette Ayachi and Nick Makoha on Poetry, Laura Kay, Katalina Watt and Jacob Ross on Fiction and Narrative Non-Fiction, Kiran Millwood-Hargrave and Benjamin Dean on Children's and YA, as well as Matthew Fitt and Victoria McNulty on Scots and Tawona Sithole and Hollie McNish on Spoken Word. The Gaelic Books Council selects the Gaelic New Writer Awardee.

Meet our awardees

Discover more about each of our New Writers, including short samples of their writing, below.

Hannah McDonald's headshot'
Hannah McDonald
Callan Gordon Award: Fiction
Alessandra Thom's headshot'
Alessandra Thom
Fiction and Narrative Non-Fiction
Dervla Johanna's headshot'
Dervla Johanna
Fiction and Narrative Non-Fiction
Craig Aitchison's headshot'
Craig Aitchison
Scots | Poetry
Dòmhnall Eòghainn MacKinnon 's headshot'
Dòmhnall Eòghainn MacKinnon
Fiction and Narrative Non-Fiction (Gaelic)
Eloise Birtwhistle's headshot'
Eloise Birtwhistle
Medha Singh's headshot'
Medha Singh
Henry Coles's headshot'
Henry Coles
Children's and YA
Oliver Robertson's headshot'
Oliver Robertson
Spoken Word
Sonali Misra's headshot'
Sonali Misra
Children's and YA

(Header photo credit Kat Gollock)

The New Writers Awards Showcase is sponsored by Hampden & Co. The New Writers Awards is more broadly supported by Creative Scotland, the Russell Trust, the Dr David Summers Trust, Garrick Charitable Trust, Badenoch Trust and the William Grant Foundation.