Looking for more in Writing and Authors?

Next Chapter Award

The Next Chapter Award is an annual award supporting an emerging writer over the age of 40.

Person writing and drawing at a desk

The Next Chapter Award is an annual award programme supporting a writer over the age of 40 who is committed to developing their writing. Awardees receive a £2,000 cash award, allowing them to focus on their work, as well as a tailored package which can include mentoring from writers and industry professionals; training in PR; performance and presentation training; and the opportunity to showcase work to publishers and agents.

The award is open to poets, novelists, short story writers, authors of narrative non-fiction and children’s authors. Entries are invited in English, Scots and a combination of both.

Previous awardees have been published by houses such as Harper Collins and Scribe Publications.

Meet our previous Next Chapter awardees

Comments from previous awardees

“I was delighted to be selected as the first recipient of the Next Chapter Award. I received lots of incredibly useful, practical support and advice throughout the year, for which I'm very grateful. It was a fantastic experience.” Gail Honeyman, Next Chapter Awardee 2014 and author of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, (HarperCollins).

“At some point we all need a little acknowledgement, a shot in the arm. Receiving the Next Chapter award from the Scottish Book Trust is that and much more. It is an incredible honour and fantastic opportunity.” Ryan O'Connor, Next Chapter Awardee 2018 and author of The Voids (Scribe). 

“The whole process has been one amazing experience after another. Since winning, I’ve been published in several literary journals (including New Writing Scotland), will have a play performed at The Gilded Balloon Theatre, performed at several spoken word events; including the New Writers Showcase in Edinburgh, where I received interest from literary agents and editors. All within one year! I owe everything to Scottish Book Trust and, because of them, my dream is now my reality.” Julie Rea, Next Chapter Awardee 2017.

View previous awardees