Looking for more in Writing and Authors or Applying for the New Writers Awards?

About the New Writers Awards

An annual award supporting emerging writers to develop their craft.

A laptop on a table with  a notepad, pen and a cup of coffee

The New Writers Awards is an annual awards programme supporting individuals committed to developing their writing. It began in 2009 and in 2010 we incorporated two Gaelic New Writers Awards in association with the Gaelic Books Council(this link will open in a new window). 2013 saw the introduction of an additional space on the programme thanks to the Callan Gordon Award(this link will open in a new window) for short story writers or poets aged between 18 and 35. The Callan Gordon Award runs every two years.

Applications are now closed for the New Writers Awards 2024. This page is for information only. Please contact applications@scottishbooktrust.com(this link will open in a new window) if you have any questions.

Awardees receive a £2,000 cash award, allowing them to focus on their work, as well as a tailored package which can include mentoring from writers and industry professionals; training in PR; performance and presentation training; and the opportunity to showcase work to publishers and agents. The awards also include a week-long retreat, offering time, space and the freedom to create new work in idyllic surroundings.

A number of our awardees have been published by major houses including HarperCollins, Simon and Schuster, Harvill Secker, Atlantic Books, Vintage Books, Freight Books and Sandstone Press. Awardees have also been shortlisted for prestigious awards, including The Booker Prizes, as well as winning awards such as Manchester Fiction Prize and The Dundee International Book Prize.

Find out more about this year's New Writers

Having my work recognised in the form of a New Writers Award was a wonderful, motivating fillip. The staff at the Scottish Book Trust are the warmest people, all of whom are absolutely focused on ensuring my writing realises its full potential.

- Tim Craven

Funded by:

William Grant Foundation logo Dr David Summers charitable trust logo logo Badenoch and Co. logo