Looking for more in Writing and Authors or New Writers Awards?

New Writers Awards digital showcase

Our digital showcase spotlighted the talents of our 2021 New Writer Awardees at our Twitter premiere

Our 2021 New Writer Awardees read their own work at our Twitter premiere on 6 April. If you missed it, here's your chance to catch up!

Spotlighting our new writers

Every year, the New Writers Awards spotlight an amazing array of new writing talent in Scotland. The prestigious 2022 judging panel included Scots Makar Jackie Kay, Niall Campbell and Colin Waters for poetry; Tendai Huchu, Janice Galloway, Denise Mina and Alan Bett judging fiction; and Dean Atta, Lari Don and Hannah Sycamore (Scottish Book Trust) judging Children's and YA entries. The Gaelic Books Council selects the two Gaelic New Writer Awardees.

The expert panellists relished the hard task of selecting awardees from hundreds of entries and this is your chance to hear the writers they selected read from their own work during our specially recorded digital event. 

Lighthouse Books have compiled an incredible selection of titles from past awardees for an online bookshop(this will open in a new window) as have the Gaelic Book Council also have an online shop(this will open in a new window) for Gaelic language awardees.

Meet our Awardees

Discover more about each of our New Writers and Next Chapter Awardees, including short samples of their writing, below.

Beth Frieden
Gaelic Poetry
Deborah Chu
Fiction and Narrative Non-Fiction
Gillian Shearer
Fiction and Narrative Non-Fiction
Hannah Nicholson
Fiction and Narrative Non-Fiction
Hazel Knox
Children's and YA
Nasim Rebecca Asl
Roddy Neithercut
Gaelic Fiction
Sally Costelloe
Children's and YA
Samantha Dooey-Miles
Fiction and Narrative Non-Fiction
Tim Craven
Thomas Stewart
Sumayya Usmani
Next Chapter: Narrative Non-Fiction