School event with Melinda Salisbury

Apply now for fully funded secondary school events with Melinda Salisbury in Stirlingshire on 17 March 2020

Melinda Salisbury is the bestselling author of multiple young adult fantasy novels, including the Sin Eater's Daughter series, the State of Sorrow duology, and - the focus of this event - Hold Back the Tide, coming in March 2020. Melinda lives on the East Sussex coast and is a passionate vegan, (bad) mother to many plants, and likes to travel.

​​Hold Back the Tide is a gripping horror story set in Scotland with a topical ecological edge. It’s perfect for fans of Riverdale, Sabrina and Stranger Things.

This event is both a talk and a workshop. Find out how Melinda got into writing and enjoy a short reading from the book, followed by a discussion of the main themes and a workshop on climate disaster. There will be time at the end for pupils to ask questions too.

This workshop is a great way to get pupils excited about reading for pleasure and creative writing.

When: Tuesday 17 March 2020

Where: Stirlingshire, East Dunbartonshire and West Dunbartonshire

Venue: Your school

Cost: Funded

Audience: S2-6

Deadline: Thursday 27 February 2020 at 09:30am

If you have any questions or comments please contact anna.broomfield@scottishbooktrust.com(this will open in a new window).

Apply now