Submitting to a Publisher: Literary Awards and Prizes

We’ve compiled a list of the major Literary Awards and Prizes in Scotland and the UK. Please check the submission information carefully before sending in your work.

For other prizes, competitions and awards in Scotland, please visit our Opportunities for Writers page.

Scottish Literary Awards

The Kelpies Prize

Established in 2004, The Kelpies Prize is an annual prize for new Scottish writing for children run by publisher Floris Books. Winning authors receive a £2,000 cash prize and have their novel published in the Kelpies range.



The Saltire Society Scottish Literary Awards

The Saltire Society Literary Awards are the oldest and arguably the most prestigious awards for Scottish based authors in their home nation.

Four awards, Scottish Book of the Year (£5,000), Scottish First Book, Scottish History Book and Scottish Research Book (£tbc) are open to any author of Scottish descent or living in Scotland, or for a book by anyone which deals with the work or life of a Scot or with a Scottish problem, event or situation. Nominations can only be made by publishers. You can only submit books for one category but winners of each category will be considered for Book of the Year.



Scottish Mortgage Investment Trust Book Awards, in association with Creative Scotland

The Scottish Mortgage Investment Trust Book Awards recognise and reward literary excellence and merit. There are four categories each worth £5,000: Fiction, Non-fiction, Poetry and First Book. The overall winner of Book of the Year wins £30,000.



James Tait Black Memorial Prizes

Established in 1919, The James Tait Black Memorial Prizes are Britain's oldest literary awards. A prize for drama was introduced in 2013.

In the Book Prize category, Two prizes (each of £10,000) are awarded annually for the best work of fiction and the best biography published in the previous year.

In the Drama Prize, one prize of £10,000 is awarded annually for the best original new play written in English, Scots or Gaelic and performed by a professional company in the previous year.



The Scottish Children’s Book Awards

The Scottish Children’s Book Awards recognize excellence in Scottish writing and illustration for children across three categories: Bookbug (0-7 years), younger readers (8-11 years), older readers (12-16 years). The winners of the awards are decided entirely by children and young people in schools and libraries across Scotland, reading and voting for their favourite books.

To take part or find out more information about the awards please visit


The Angus Book Awards

The Angus Book Award was launched in 1996 as an Angus Council initiative to encourage pupils to read and enjoy quality teenage fiction. It is based on pupils not only voting for the winner, but actively participating in all aspects of the Award from the selection of the shortlist to the Award ceremony.

The Award involves pupils from all eight secondary schools in Angus in reading four short listed titles. The shortlist is selected by teachers, librarians and pupils from books appropriate for the 13/15 year old age group, written by authors living in the UK and published in paperback between July and June of the preceding year. 



UK Literary Prizes (open to unpublished writers)


Richard and Judy’s Search for a Bestseller

The Frances Lincoln Diverse Voices Children's Book Award

Bath Novel Award

Mslexia Novel Competition (Open to female writers).

The Betty Trask Prize

The McKitterick Prize (Open to writers over the age of 40).


Short Stories

BBC National Short Story Award

The Costa Short Story Award

The Bath Short Story Award

Manchester Fiction Prize

The Bristol Short Story Prize

Mslexia Short Story Competition



Edwin Morgan Poetry Award

The Eric Gregory Awards (Open to writers under the age of 30)



The Bridport Prize (poetry, short stories and flash fiction)