Osbert the Avenger

By Christopher William Hill
Osbert the Avenger cover

Buy

Synopsis

Meet Osbert Brinkhoff, the unlikeliest of avengers. His is a tale of dark delights and ghastly goings-on, of injustice and revenge. The villains are vicious. The settings are sinister. And good does NOT always prevail...

If you prefer cleavers to kittens and fiends to fairies...then welcome to the GRUESOMELY FUNNY Tales from Schwartzgarten.

Year of Publication

Review

Fans of Roald Dahl, Chris Priestly and Lemony Snicket will savour every gruesome drop of this stylish, grisly and original comedy. The Times An idiosyncratic comic fantasy... it is likely that children will be most enthusiastic. Books For Keeps Bloodthirsty and mysterious with a sharp spike in its tail, Osbert's story is a deliciously dark invitation to the strange world of Schwartzgarten, a city corrupt with shadows and secrets - and in need of a hero. We Love this Book Highly original... gruesome but funny. parentsintouch.co.uk A refreshingly unusual read. Peters Gazette Looks set to be a hugely successful new series. Marvelously detailed. There are three more bloodthirsty and hilarious adventures to come. School Librarian A macabre tale full of ghoulish and gruesome escapades. A frightening but appealing anti-hero. Booktrust One of those rare books children will happily read aloud to each other, which is one of the highest accolades a story can have. * * * * * bookbag.co.uk A riveting story - a clever mix of humour with some very dark and gruesome moments and a couple of real shocks towards the end. Primary Times If you love your teachers and have never entertained the thought of murdering them in the most diabolically appropriate way, then this book should probably be avoided at all costs. Lion & Unicorn Books Rules are broken in a carnival manner that is deliciously and genuinely thrilling Books for Keeps A gruesomely funny story... a tale of dark delights and ghastly goings-on, of injustice and revenge. West Briton A more deliciously gruesome tale of injury, revenge and murder it would be hard to find. * * * * * bookbag.co.uk Macabre and gruesome and wickedly funny. Julia Eccleshare, lovereading.co.uk Gruesomely funny. This brilliantly woven mock-gothic tale has huge child appeal. West Books This is a brilliantly written book with fantastic characters. It is a real page-turner, a hilarious read and it will delight boys and girls alike. EdOntheWeb.com For readers who like their stories darkly comic, in the style of Lemony Snicket... elaborate murders, twists and narrow escapes. Sunday Times A macabre tale full of ghoulish and gruesome escapades. Fans of Lemony Snicket and Edward Gorey will delight in this sinister story. Booktrust This man is darker, funnier and more alive than Roald Dahl. Dan Patterson, creator of Mock The Week and Whose Line Is It Anyway Dark and funny in a very horrible way. Sunday Express Utterly absorbing. The Daily Telegraph If you like your reading dark and gruesome, then this is the series for you! Parents in Touch Gruesomely funny. School Librarian You want to be caught up in the thrall of delicious deviance and page-turning scandal, go on, get stuck in. Sarah McIntyre

Author Biography

Christopher William Hill is an award-winning playwright and radio dramatist. His plays for young people have been performed in the UK and internationally.