Author details

Barry Hutchison

Biography

Born and bred in the Highlands of Scotland, I have been writing ever since I first figured out which end of a pencil did what. I wrote my first novel when I was twelve. It was eighteen pages long and terrible. Since then I like to think I have improved. At 17 I wrote a Scottish set screenplay – THE CURSE OF THE BOG WOMEN – and was stunned to have it optioned by a US company that same year. Two years later, my second screenplay – MAKING A KILLING – was optioned by a UK company. Both organizations later declared bankruptcy. As far as I’m aware, I was directly responsible for neither. Since then I have written everything from magazine articles to radio plays. It was only as my first child began to read that I decided to try my hand at books for children. Since then I have written six books for Egmont, and have sold a six-part horror series – INVISIBLE FIENDS – to HarperCollins. I am very keen to encourage children – particularly reluctant boys – to read a wide range of fiction. This is why I became involved in founding the Trapped By Monsters website (www.trappedbymonsters.com) – a site designed to share great stories, and get children involved in reading and writing.

About writer's work

I consider the six books I’ve written for Egmont to be my practice work. I have taken everything I learned working on those titles and have put it into INVISIBLE FIENDS. I enjoy writing for boys, and although I’m currently working on horror books, they are filled with moments of dark humour, as comedy has always been my first genre of choice.

Websites featuring the author

www.barryhutchison.comwww.trappedbymonsters.com

Other work

Short story, MONKEY MAGIC, featured in Wow366 charity anthology from Scholastic. Currently developing a comic book mini-series, GANGRENE.

Email

barry@barryhutchison.com

Local authority where they are based

Highland

Local authorities where they can work

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Angus, Argyll and Bute, Clackmannanshire, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar (Western Isles), Dumfries and Galloway, Dundee, East Ayrshire, East Dunbartonshire, East Lothian, East Renfrewshire, Edinburgh, Falkirk, Fife, Glasgow, Highland, Inverclyde, Midlothian, Moray, North Ayrshire, North Lanarkshire, Orkney, Perth and Kinross, Renfrewshire, Scottish Borders, Shetland, South Ayrshire, South Lanarkshire, Stirling, West Dunbartonshire, West Lothian, Other

Age groups

5-8, 9-12

LL funded

Yes

BRAW network

Yes

Author type

Writer

Language

English

Books written

The Book Of Doom

Author(s): Barry Hutchison
<p>The second hilarious book in Barry’s AFTERWORLDS sequence – comic fantasy perfect for fans of Pratchett and Douglas Adams.</p><p>There’s panic up in Heaven.
Invisible Fiends - The Darkest Corners

Invisible Fiends - The Darkest Corners

Author(s): Barry Hutchison
The concluding part of this darkly funny, horror series Darren Shan called 'deliciously nightmarish'. Kyle's dad is one of the most powerful invisible fiends, and he is everywhere.
The 13th Horseman

The 13th Horseman

Author(s): Barry Hutchison
Drake is surprised to find three horsemen of the apocalypse playing snakes and ladders in his garden shed. He’s even more surprised when they insist that he is one of them.
Invisible Fiends - The Beast

Invisible Fiends - The Beast

Author(s): Barry Hutchison
Kyle is having trouble with the neighbours. They’ve turned into black-eyed, flesh-eating zombies.
Invisible Fiends - Doc Mortis

Invisible Fiends - Doc Mortis

Author(s): Barry Hutchison
Kyle wakes up in hospital – which is strange, because he doesn't remember being ill. And that's not all.
Invisible Fiends - The Crowmaster

Invisible Fiends - The Crowmaster

Author(s): Barry Hutchison
After Kyle's ordeal at school, his mother packs him off to the safety of the countryside, where there will be no temptation to use his powers, and he can forget the bad things - like the fact tha
Invisible Fiends - Raggy Maggie

Invisible Fiends - Raggy Maggie

Author(s): Barry Hutchison
Araid of a cute little dolly, are you? Well, you should be… Billy is the hardest kid in school and a horrible bully.
Mr Mumbles: Invisible Fiends

Mr Mumbles: Invisible Fiends

Author(s): Barry Hutchison
Kyle's imaginary friend from childhood is back! with a vengeance. Kyle hasn't seen Mr Mumbles in years. And there's a good reason for that: Mr Mumbles doesn't exist.
All That Glitters: AND Max Out (Ben 10 Alien Force Storybooks)

All That Glitters: AND Max Out (Ben 10 Alien Force Storybooks)

Author(s): Barry Hutchison
Lets you discover what happens when Ben comes across a guy turning people into zombies in &quot;All That Glitters&quot;, then turn to &quot;Max Out&quot; to join Ben and the gang on a
Paradox: AND Plumbers' Helpers (Ben 10 Alien Force Storybooks)

Paradox: AND Plumbers' Helpers (Ben 10 Alien Force Storybooks)

Author(s): Barry Hutchison
Lets you join Ben, Gwen and Kevin in 'Paradox' when they confront a time-traveling creature, then turn to 'Plumbers' Helpers' to discover what happens when the gang are mistak

Pages