Author details

Mason Cross


I was born in Glasgow in 1979, and currently live just outside the city with my wife and three children. I’ve been writing stories for as long as I can remember. I studied English at the University of Stirling, and then completed a postgrad in Information Technology. These experiences taught me that I'm a lot better with words than I am with computers.

I’ve written a lot of short crime stories, some of which have been published in magazines like Ellery Queen and First Edition. One of my stories, ‘A Living’, was shortlisted for the Quick Reads ‘Get Britain Reading’ Award, and published in the Sun Book of Short Stories.

My first novel, The Killing Season, was published by Orion in 2014 and was longlisted for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year. The sequel, The Samaritan, was selected for the Richard and Judy Spring Book Club in 2016, and was followed by The Time to Kill (published as Winterlong in the US), Don't Look For Me and Presumed Dead.

You can find out more about me and the Carter Blake series by visiting my website: 

About writer's work

My novels are thrillers based in the United States, although I am influenced by both British and American crime fiction. I have appeared at several literary festivals including the Edinburgh International Book Festival, Bloody Scotland, the Harrogate Crime Writing Festival, CrimeFest, Aye Write, NL Encounters, and Dunoon Book Festival.

I have delivered talks and writing workshops to bookshops, libraries and schools in Glasgow, North and South Lanarkshire, West Dunbartonshire, Stirlingshire, Clackmannanshire, Ayrshire and Orkney.

Websites featuring the author



Local authority where they are based


Local authorities where they can work

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Angus, Argyll and Bute, Clackmannanshire, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar (Western Isles), Dumfries and Galloway, Dundee, East Ayrshire, East Dunbartonshire, East Lothian, East Renfrewshire, Edinburgh, Falkirk, Fife, Glasgow, Highland, Inverclyde, Midlothian, Moray, North Ayrshire, North Lanarkshire, Orkney, Perth and Kinross, Renfrewshire, Scottish Borders, Shetland, South Ayrshire, South Lanarkshire, Stirling, West Dunbartonshire, West Lothian, Other

Age groups

Teens, Adults

LL funded


BRAW network


Author type




Books written

Don't Look cover

Don't Look for Me

Author(s): Mason Cross
Don't look for me. It was a simple instruction. And for six long years Carter Blake kept his word and didn't search for the woman he once loved.
Presumed Dead cover

Presumed Dead

Author(s): Mason Cross
THEN Adeline Connor was the Devil Mountain Killer's final victim.
The Time to Kill cover

The Time to Kill

Author(s): Mason Cross
It's been five years since Carter Blake parted ways with top-secret government operation Winterlong.
The Samaritan cover

The Samaritan

Author(s): Mason Cross
When the mutilated body of a young woman is discovered in the Santa Monica Mountains, LAPD Detective Jessica Allen knows this isn't the work of a first-time killer. She's seen this MO bef
Killing Season cover

The Killing Season

Author(s): Mason Cross
It takes a man with no limits to catch a killer with no motive When ex-Marine Corps Scout Sniper and infamous serial killer Caleb Wardell breaks out from Death Row, logic suggests he will go to gro