A House Divided

When you must face Maxwell, give evidence before the King. Have you thought on that?’ ‘If I do not face Maxwell, I will not be able to face myself.’ Scotland 1597. The truce between the Cunninghame and Montgomerie clans is fragile. And for the Munro family, living in hiding under assumed names, these are dangerous times. While Munro risks his life daily in the army of the French King, the spectre of discovery by William Cunninghame haunts his wife Kate. Her fears for their children and her absent husband realized as William’s desire for revenge tears their world apart. A sweeping tale of compassion and cruelty, treachery and sacrifice, set against the backdrop of a religious war, feuding clans and the Great Scottish Witch Hunt of 1597. This eagerly awaited sequel to Turn of the Tide can also be read as a stand-alone novel and will appeal to fans of Winston Graham's Poldark and C J Sansom's Shardlake series. Professional Reviews '…captivating and fast-paced. You’ll find yourself reading far into the night. Ann Weisgarber: Walter Scott and Orange Prize shortlisted author of The Promise 'A classic adventure story that grips from the very first page.' Shirley McKay author of the Hew Cullen mystery series. Praise for Margaret Skea - Beryl Bainbridge Best 1st Time Novelist 2014 ‘Margaret Skea brings 16th century Scotland to vivid life in Turn of the Tide.' Sharon K Penman. Published by: Sanderling Press
Publisher: 
Sandstone Press
Year: 
ISBN: 
9780993333109
Age Groups: 
Teens, Adults Return to Margaret Skea's profile