21 Children's Books You Need to Read, as Chosen by Pupils

Primary 6 pupils at Comely Park primary school in Falkirk have been devouring some fantastic contemporary books this year! Below, check out their top 21 recommendations (and no, we haven't read them all either!).

 

Gingersnaps by Cathy Cassidy

"Teachers should read this book because it’s cool, different and quirky! Let’s see if any teachers like the band!"

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

"Teachers should read this because it’s a fantasy, action packed and exciting novel."

The Uncommoners by Jennifer Bell

"Teachers should read this book because it’s exciting, mysterious and leaves you on a cliff hanger."

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

"Teachers should read this book because it’s a thrilling, scary story that makes you think about the world in a different way."

The Midnight Gang by David Walliams

"Teachers should read this book because it’s fun and exciting. It captures your imagination."

The 13-Storey Treehouse by Andy Griffiths

"Teachers should read this because it’s a funny book and I would like to see what the teachers think of it."

Varjak Paw by SF Said

"Teachers should read this book because it is a fun action packed story that teaches you to believe in yourself. It’s a great story to read in your spare time. It is fun, mysterious and adventurous. It is my favourite book ever!!!"

The Sleekit Mr Tod by Roald Dahl, translated by James Robertson

"Teachers should read this because the Scots language is more descriptive than English and makes the story much more lively. Gallus!"

Northern Lights by Philip Pullman

"Teachers should read this book because it’s full of adventure and drama."

Nightfall by Peter Kujawinski and Jake Halpern

"Teachers should read this book because it describes the characters really well. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman."

Cogheart by Peter Bunzl

"Teachers should read this book because it is like Victorian science fiction and gets you thinking about being treated fairly and what makes you human."

Alex Rider: Eagle Strike by Anthony Horowitz

"Teachers should read this because it is a tense, exciting and action packed book that is also funny as well."

Goosebumps: One Day at Horrorland by RL Stine

"Teachers should read this book if they like scary situations and hilarious endings!"

The Nowhere Emporium by Ross MacKenzie

"Teachers should read this because it is set in a magical Scotland and is really atmospheric and at times creepy."

The Boy Who Sailed The Ocean In An Armchair by Lara Williamson

"Teachers should read this book because it has humour even in serious situations."

Beetle Boy by MG Leonard

"Teachers should read this because it is all about bravery in a madcap way and is not what you expect!"

Hetty Feather by Jacqueline Wilson

"Teachers should read this because it is enjoyable and knowledgeable- a great way to learn about Victorian life. It is very different from other Jacqueline Wilson books."

The Last Wild by Piers Torday

"Teachers should read this if they like funny and exciting animal adventures."

Iron Man: The Gauntlet by Eoin Colfer

"Teachers should read this if they like action packed adventure and mystery – and super rich, super smart super heroes!"

Tom Gates: Top Of The Class (Nearly) by Liz Pichon

"Teachers should read this if they have a class that are always getting up to stuff – and if they like illustrations that help tell the story.  It is really funny and you get to know the characters really well."

Flood by Alvaro F. Villa

"Teachers should read this as it’s great for your imagination because there are no words – just amazingly detailed pictures!"

 

For more brilliant recommendations, check out our book lists for all ages.

Top image by Alan Peebles.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Katrina Lucas and Comely Park P6

Katrina Lucas is a teacher at Comely Park Primary School. She's also a huge advocate of the Scots language in schools, and previously worked as a Scots Language Co-ordinator at Education Scotland. Katrina has written some fantastic blogs about Scots in the classroom - check out all of our Scots posts here.